Pinterest Follow Button
Family Favorite Recipes Family Favorites
Mr Espresso
like us on Facebook

Frequently Asked Questions


What are the five mother sauces of cooking?


The answer to what the five mother sauces are has changed with the times. Originally, 19th century French chef, Antonin Careme, classified sauces into five categories, they were:

  • Allemande, based on stock with egg yolk and a hint of lemon juice
  • Béchamel, based on flour and milk
  • Espagnole, based on brown stock (beef, etc.)
  • Velouté, based on a light broth (fish, chicken, or veal)
  • Vinaigrette

In the early 20th century, French chef Auguste Escoffier updated the classification, replacing sauce Allemande with egg-based emulsions (Hollandaise and mayonnaise), and adding tomato. They are:

  • Béchamel
  • Espagnole
  • Hollandaise and mayonnaise (replacing Allemande)
  • Velouté
  • Tomato sauce

For more information regarding the mother sauces, read my article, The Five Mother Sauces, which includes recipes for the sauces.

Have a question? Submit it here.

FAQ Archive Index